What type of work environment
can I expect?
State employees can
expect to work in an environment in which they will be treated fairly
in accordance with the law. Performance evaluations are conducted
regularly, opportunities for promotion and advancement are available,
and various training classes are offered to enhance and supplement
skill sets. Customer service and professionalism are heavily
emphasized in all offices. The majority of State employees work from 8:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m.; with some offices offering flexible hours. Some State
employees work in facilities and programs requiring 24 hour, 7 day a
2. Can you describe the
orientation & probationary period?
Shortly after being
hired, new employees are encouraged to participate in a training
session called Orientation to State Employment. This session
outlines in detail the rules, regulations, policies and benefits of
State employees. New employees will serve a probationary period of
either six months or one year before achieving permanent status. This
probationary period is used to allow new employees to become familiar
with the responsibilities and procedures of the position as well as
prove their competence and reliability. State employees are eligible
to compete in recruitments for promotional openings after six months
of continuous service.
What about Holidays/Annual &
The State of Nevada
provides its employees with excellent basic benefits and a variety of
medical benefit options. State employees receive 11 paid holidays per
year. New employees who have worked the equivalent of six months are
entitled to seven and a half days of annual (vacation) leave. Annual
leave will continue to accrue at a rate of 10 hours per month for the
first 10 years of service. Annual leave accrual rates are slightly
greater for employees with more than 10 years of continuous service.
State employees accrue 10 hours of sick leave per month of full-time
service to protect against loss of pay in the event of illness or
injury. Part-time employees accrue annual and sick leave hours on a
prorated basis of the 10 hours per month credit that full-time
What kind of health coverage is offered?
Coverage for employees
and their eligible dependents becomes effective on the first day of
the month following or coincident with 90 consecutive days of
employment. Employees are required to pay a premium for dependent
coverage. The premium is typically deducted from the first
paycheck of the month. The health coverage options available for
employees and their dependents include the following plans:
Are there other additional benefits?
which are available include:
In addition to the above
benefit options, the State of Nevada sponsors many other benefits and
insurance programs (such as long-term care and short-term disability
insurance) for additional cost. The details of the insurance program
are available by contacting the Public Employees Benefits Program (click
here to go to the PEBP website).
Who is eligible?
The State of Nevada
employee benefit program is available to all employees working at
least 80 hours per month and their eligible dependents. Eligible
dependents include the employee's spouse and unmarried children under
age 19. Unmarried children age 19-24 are considered eligible
dependents if they are enrolled on a fulltime basis in an accredited